Ch 1. Innocence

At the age of fourteen, I stood five feet and four inches tall.  I hit a growth spurt early and had only grown two inches since fifth grade.  My face was in a constant battle between having too much moisture and not enough, so oftentimes, I would have a combination of acne and dry skin.  My hair was it’s natural light brown/dark blonde color.  It had been dyed in the past, but that was only on account of my sister (eighteen and a freshman in college) becoming board and using me as a live doll.  I weighed a mere 110 pounds and was able to maintain that weight without ever having to think about it (ah, to be young again…).  In fact, as a freshman in high school, I didn’t care much at all about my weight.  I ate what I wanted, when I wanted, and I only joined cross country and track because I had a good time with it.

Recently, I had moved up from a size B cup to a C, and I finally threw out my sister’s only bras, which had been handed down to her from our mom.  While most of my friends dressed in the latest clothes from Abercrombie & Fitch (with the perfume to keep the clothes smelling like the store), I wore my sister’s hand-me-downs that she decided were out of fashion for her now that she was a college student.  That and the fact that I now had a bathroom to myself were the advantages to my sister moving out.  The downside is that, until I turned sixteen, I was forced to ride the bus again.

My biggest problem every day was what my Facebook status would be.  My friends and I had just finished reading all of the books in the Twilight series, and we would practically brag to each other about how we cried at certain parts.  We loved watching movies like The Notebook because those were movies about true love, and we knew just what the characters were going through because we felt the same way when we broke up with our boyfriends (barf).

I was a typical, American high school freshman girl, surrounded by innocence.  I had no idea how to be a real person yet or think for myself.  Everything I learned was from following the lead of the older people in my life.

And he knew it.  That’s why he went for me.

 

Leave a Reply

